Skip to content

Check it out: The Thang Blog

September 5, 2009

I’ve been regularly reading The Thang Blog for a while now and I can’t recommend it more highly. I’m particularly thankful at Rebecca’s willingness to describe her transition process as a trans woman. Recently she posted a video of a piece she wrote “Trans Form” about some of her experiences transitioning.

Personally, I loved it because I can so completely relate. I myself am horribly anal about being places on time, and routinely show up embarassingly early and have to wait. But the video also labels so clearly my cisgender privilege. The daily battles that I don’t have to fight, my ease in navigating public spaces, and this experience of having your existence questioned seems so heart-wrenching to me.

It’s such a failing of modern feminism that we routinely leave trans women out. There are really concrete examples like the “womyn born womyn” policy of the Michigan Women’s Festival or Lu’s Pharmacy. But I think there are also those daily times we refer to women, and don’t think about trans women, when we talk about “women’s issues” in politics and don’t consider the policies that negatively affect trans women. The feminist movement and women’s spaces should not be one more place where trans women feel like their existence is questioned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 11:26 PM

    Thanks for the shout-out, Becky! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the blog and – as much as I started it for pretty inwardly-focused reasons (basically, journaling) – it’s been incredibly satisfying to hear that other people are getting something out of my writings.

    I’m also really glad you enjoyed the ‘Trans Form’ piece. It’s part of some work I’m doing toward a larger show (also called Trans Form) that I’ll be doing this December. As soon as I, y’know, write the rest of the show…

    Anyway, yes – my goal in all of the performance work I’ve done has been to try and find ways to make transitioning and trans-related issues accessible to a larger, non-trans, audience (while, of course, staying true to my experiences).

    I had the thought at one point that, since I take so many non-trans-themed books and movies as metaphors for transitioning (The Little Mermaid being an easy example), why can’t transitioning be turned around as a metaphor for everyone else? I honestly don’t think there’s anything about transitioning that can’t be understood by cisgender or cissexual people, at least at some level.

    So I’m thrilled the piece was something you enjoyed both as a relatable experience and as a way of accessing something about the experience (or, at least, my experience) of being a trans woman. 🙂

    • September 9, 2009 11:30 PM

      PS – Go Carelton! A good friend of mine graduated there in ’07. From what I hear, everyone at Carelton knows everyone, so email me and we’ll see if we can play “do you know…” 😉

Leave a Reply

