Skip to content

Friday Body Positive Songs!

April 30, 2010

Here are some body positive songs I’ve been listening to this week:

“Unpretty”, TLC

Never insecure until I met you
Now I’m bein’ stupid
I used to be so cute to me
Just a little bit skinny
Why do I look to all these things
To keep you happy?
Maybe get rid of you
And then I’ll get back to me.

Watch the (kind of strange) video here (embedding disabled). Here’s a video with lyrics and pictures of TLC:

For some more awesome early ’90s hip hop, here’s Queen Latifah’s “U.N.I.T.Y”:

I bring wrath to those who disrespect me like a dame
That’s why I’m talking, one day I was walking down the block
I had my cutoff shorts on right cause it was crazy hot
I walked past these dudes when they passed me
One of ’em felt my booty, he was nasty
I turned around red, somebody was catching the wrath
Then the little one said “Yeah me bitch.” and laughed
Since he was with his boys he tried to break fly
I punched him dead in his eye and said
“Who you calling a bitch?”

(The full song may be slightly triggering–there’s some talk of domestic abuse.)

And here’s Brother Ali’s “Forest Whitaker”. Get excited, because he’s headlining Carleton’s Spring Concert this year!

To everyone out there, who’s a little different
I say damn a magazine, these is God’s fingerprints
You can call me ugly but can’t take nothing from me
I am what I am doctor you ain’t gotta love me.

Happy Friday! And leave your body positive songs in the comments!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 30, 2010 9:37 PM

    Video by India Arie, but this one you already know, Big girl you are beautiful by Mika, God loves Ugly, Jordin Sparks, Beauty in the ugly, Jason Mraz… I know more but these are the ones I remember now.

Leave a comment