Skip to content

Don’t read this post unless you want to get angry.

October 26, 2010

A Marie Claire writer just posted an “article” on the new CBS sitcom Mike & Molly (about a couple that met in Overeaters Anonymous) asking the question, “Fat people making out on TV — are you cool with it?

Her point of view,

So anyway, yes, I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other … because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything. To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room — just like I’d find it distressing if I saw a very drunk person stumbling across a bar or a heroine addict slumping in a chair.

Seriously team, this is some hateful shit. I wrote a comment on the website. (Apparently at some point I made a profile called Walker7953?) I don’t care much for Marie Claire anyway, but I think it’s important for them to know that this is totally beneath them and disgusting:

From your patronizing diet advice to your admission that you have “plump” friends to your belief that you shouldn’t have to see people you find unattractive IN PUBLIC this article is hateful and disgusting.

I can’t believe that this was published by Marie Claire and has taken away any respect I have for the magazine. Your misguided belief that fat can never be healthy is one thing – the fact that you are even questioning whether we should have to see happy fat people on tv is another thing – and completely out of line.

I have so much more to say, but I’m too disgusted to even look at this article any more.

Feel free to leave any rants, gurglings, or screams in the comments. Those who think that fat people shouldn’t be on TV can take it somewhere else.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 3:09 AM

    The saddest part of this is it doesn’t surprise me. It hurts, embarrasses, and wounds me, but it doesn’t surprise me. I have got to say though how heartened I am by reading all the comments calling this narrow-minded troubled woman out on her outright hate speech and horrid excuse for a story, that has left me feeling like there ARE people on our side.

  2. meghan permalink
    October 27, 2010 2:23 PM

    It’s not right to be hateful, but seriously, I don’t think ANYONE wants or DESIRES to see two people not in a healthy form make out. Honestly, try watching “unhollywood” body types kiss and rub on each other, it’s not appealing. Should we treat people wrong, NO, but some people don’t need to wear a short skirt( me included, and I don’t ) and other people don’t need to be on film in a setting such as an intimate scene. Sorry that’s the real deal. I dare you to go purchase a magazine with big woman in it, and see how you react and feel about it.

    • happybodies permalink
      October 27, 2010 6:18 PM

      Oh hai. Remember how I said hateful people can take it somewhere else? Yeah. I don’t give a shit what you think is attractive or desireable.

      We’re a blog of sexy women of all shapes and sizes and we wear mini skirts whenever we fucking want.

    • Ashley permalink
      October 27, 2010 8:20 PM

      Hahahaha, oh, I really, REALLY like how you assume that just because YOU and this hateful Marie Clair article (and a shit ton of other people) think that it’s gross for fat people to exist and do the same things other non-fat people do, that THE WHOLE WORLD HAS THE SAME REACTION OMG FAT PEOPLE GROSS HOW CAN THEY EVEN HAVE DESIRES WHEN THEY LOOK LIKE THAT?!!?! Let me tell you a story:

      Today on my campus it was Love Your Body Day. I participated because I fucking love this big, fat beautiful body of mine and I want to share it with others. I want to show others that there are other bodies out there and I’m not hideous or unhealthy because I live in one. I took partially nude pictures a week before, yes, that’s right, this gorgeous fattie in her undies and bra, posing it up, being a sexy bitch because I love to be naked. Those pictures went up on the walls, next to other brave beautiful girls and I walked around today, in my bra, partially nude, wrapped in a sheet. And you know the overwhelming reaction I got from everyone? They were inspired. They admired my confidence. They wished THEY could have the same confidence. You don’t even know how many calls of “Get it girl!” and “You’re beautiful!” I heard today. People loved and encouraged me and my body. And sure, I saw a few snickering assholes but did I care? No. Because this is my body, I love it, I feel sexy, and I don’t really give a shit if a few perfect strangers don’t find my body fuckable or wankable enough.

      So in short, take your assumptions about how people react to different bodies, and shove it. You go ahead and avoid that short skirt. I’ll be rocking a sexy dress and boots with my beautiful strong legs and stomach and breasts and shoulders and thighs. And some people will laugh and hate. But I. Don’t. Give a shit.

      Word.

      • October 27, 2010 8:33 PM

        I can`t add anymore than that except Ashley I`d take you for my side any day of the week!

      • Jill permalink
        October 28, 2010 12:48 AM

        This is for sure the best thing I read today.

      • cellardoor10 permalink
        November 4, 2010 7:13 PM

        So. Amazing. It almost makes me happy this person posted such ignorant hate just so I got to read your response.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Don’t read this post unless you want to get angry. « Happy Bodies -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

