Skip to content

Manly Men: lol

June 8, 2010

There are a lot of really problematic things about traditional masculinity, and a lot of really great groups trying to critically examine it: Men Can Stop Rape, XY, and Men Talking About Masculinities (a discussion group at Carleton), are all good examples. But let’s be honest, sometimes, traditional masculinity can be so funny. I’m not totally sure how to pin it down, there’s something about the bravado, the need to boast, and the unattainable physical feats that bring me to tears.

  • For a more modern example of men’s consumerist culture, there is this video from Funny or Die: Manly Men’s Ads (found via)
  • And lastly, when I see traditional, over-the-top masculinity performed, I can’t help but sing this in my head:

So what do you think, is there anything funny about traditional masculinity? Why? Are the parts of traditional masculinity that I can find humorous damaging to men?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. adam permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:38 PM

    Hahaha 🙂 …I guess if I said any of this is “damaging,” I wouldn’t be a real man 😉

  2. June 30, 2010 2:30 PM

    This is related in kind of a curious way: I’d be surprised if that very same magazine cover didn’t inspire this Frank Zappa album cover:

Leave a Reply

