Skip to content

Postsecret

June 1, 2010

Here’s a video posted about Postsecret, one of my favorite blogs/projects/virtual art exhibits/whatever out there. Frank Warren, the creator and editor, just published the newest Postsecret book, Confessions on Life, Death, and God, and he’s been on tour speaking at colleges, etc. I own one of the earlier books, and it is a book I frequently revisit when I have free time. In addition, Postsecret/Frank Warren does some great work supporting a Suicide Prevention hotline. The video gets some of the spirit of the project, I think (hopefully the embedding works?).

PostSecret: Confessions on Life, Death and God from Frank Warren on Vimeo.

So how does this relate to Happy Bodies? Well there aren’t any body-related secrets in this video, but there definitely are in the Sunday Secrets (posts of new secrets every Sunday on the blog), and in the book I own. In addition, the art and the self-expression are moving. I have never submitted a secret, but I love reading them every week. It’s combination of a voyeuristic desire to hear other people’s deep thoughts, but there’s also a lot of validation – people are insecure about the same things I am, or have similar feelings of guilt, anger, sadness, etc. The variety of huge, life-changing secrets all the way to minutiae like sandwich preference, etc. is so comforting. Everyone knows something about themselves that no one else knows, even if it’s something as simple as their favorite vegetable. That means a lot to me, and I can’t entirely put into words why. Maybe it’s the sense of ownership that goes with that or the sense that by reading the secrets, you are seeing something real and raw, even if you have no idea who wrote it.

I’d love to hear anyone else’s thoughts on why this is so popular or why they read it (or don’t).

One Comment leave one →
  1. cellardoor10 permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:52 PM

    This post was actually written in December, and just accidentally got lost in posting limbo-land. The video was brand new when I wrote it originally 🙂

Leave a Reply

