Skip to content

Friday Sex Positive Music

May 14, 2010
by

I really like the new Rihanna song “Rude Boy”. I like it a lot. And when you start listening to the lyrics, it can actually be read as a very sex positive song. I especially like this verse (at about 2:26).

I like the way you touch me there
I like the way you pull my hair
Babe, if I don’t feel it I ain’t faking, no, no
I like when you tell me ‘kiss you there’
I like when you tell me ‘move it there’

Not only is Rihanna telling her partner what she likes and expressing sexual desire (ZOMG! Women who want sex!?!), she also refuses to fake an orgasm. AND tells her partner that he can also say what (presumably) he likes to do. I love that this song makes it sexy to talk about what you’re doing and let your partner know what turns you on. Here’s the video, it’s pretty sweet. I’m gonna go dance through my day with Rihanna stuck in my head.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    May 23, 2010 8:05 PM

    Awesome video. I wonder if Rhianna was aware when she named the song that Rude Boy is also a sex toy for prostate stimulation? I’m just gonna go ahead and think she did because that makes me really happy and smiley.

  2. May 29, 2010 9:44 AM

    Ehh, I suppose. But the first thing I think of when I hear this song — the opening lyrics and refrain, actually — is, Well, this is doing a lot for the rude boy’s performance & body image anxieties:

    Come on rude boy, boy
    Can you get it up
    Come here rude boy, boy
    Is you big enough

    On the other hand, the fluid power dynamic of “let you be the captain”/”let you be the rider” is cool, and the fact the female speaker is so upfront about her own sexual desire is good to hear: “I’mma let you take me higher,” etc.

    • Lisa permalink
      May 29, 2010 11:04 AM

      I basically agree with your analysis, mike. I definitely have mixed feelings about this song, but I like that it does have some sex-positive lyrics that seems to be about consent, and the female partner expressing sexual desire and preferences. Like most pop/hip-hop music, there are also some problematic aspects of it, but it’s better than a lot of what’s out there these days.

Leave a Reply

