Skip to content

Arizona Again

May 5, 2010

This article literally makes me want to cry. And I wanted to share another great graphic I found (thanks Jessie!) that illustrates the racism of Arizona law SB1070.

I just can’t let this go. This is unspeakably awful. A US state has enacted a law that would REQUIRE racial profiling (and encourage anti-immigrant sentiment, as if we needed more of that). How can they do that in this day and age? I certainly don’t think that we live in a post-racial society, because racism is still rampant in many ways. But I never thought that a law like this could have passed.

In addition to the outrage I feel as a reasonable person who does not want racist government policies, I’m also hurting on a more personal level. As some of you know, I work for a program that helps minority, low-income and first generation college students to graduate high school and go on to college. My program was founded specifically to work with Latin@ students, and they still make up the majority of our participants. And many of them are undocumented. Or their parents are undocumented. Everything they do in their lives from grocery shopping, to driving a car, to going to school is 10x harder than for US citizens and tainted with fear. The fear of discovery, the fear of raids, the fear of being pulled over, the fear of deportation and split up families. And this law makes it all exponentially worse. I know the people that this law affects. And I’m scared for them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

