Skip to content

Becky’s a Star!

April 12, 2010
by

Our very own Becky was interviewed for this New York Press article about the Calvin Klein “Do you want to see my dick?” ads.

“This ad made me uncomfortable with myself in that moment. I felt attacked in my own home space. I’ve never felt attacked by a show,” says Becky Canary-King, a 22-year-old Senior at Carl[e]ton College in Minnesota. She surfed to Hulu to get her weekly fix of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, a show somewhat notorious for its filth. But the CK ad shocked her just the same.

“It’s different because I chose to watch the show and I know what’s going to be on it,” she said. “I work at a gender and sexuality center. I’m fine with talking about sex. It was the way the content was displayed. It was the aggression behind it.”

Way to go Becky! You rock!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

