Skip to content

Men Fighting Misogyny & Rape Culture

March 30, 2010
by

Because I’m all about male allies and men acting to end misogyny and violence against women, here’s a link to an awesome blog post by Fugitivus about good guys stepping up to the plate:

Stuff What Boys Can Do

Her commenters, men and women, sent in personal anecdotes about men in their lives acting against misogyny.  I particularly like this one from PharaohKatt:

This incident occurred one night when me and my partner had some friends over to play Rock Band. An argument got started about oppression, and whether it sucked more to be a woman or a man.

One of the men there made the comment that he dressed up and did his best to look good, and these women still won’t sleep with him! I asked him “Are you saying you deserve women?” He yelled “With the amount of effort I put into my appearance, yes!”

I got very upset, and went into the bedroom to try and calm down, at which point my partner spoke up. He said that women weren’t objects that men deserved, and no matter how much effort he put into his appearance, he did not *deserve* to get sex.

Afterwards, I had a quiet talk with this person, when things were less heated, and explained why I felt that what he said was horrible. Something my partner had said got through to him, and he apologised profusely and spent the rest of the night trying to make it up to me.

What have men you know done to ally up and fight misogyny?  Share in the comments!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    March 30, 2010 7:04 PM

    This isn’t specifically about misogyny, but relates to male allies standing up for equality and stuff:

    My (awesome) boyfriend recently saw a comedy flick with a good friend from high school. As they discussed it afterward my bf said something like “I thought it was pretty funny, but parts of it were really heteronormative”. To which his friend responded something like “huh?” And then my bf explained to him to him all the parts that he had found heteronormative, why they were problematic, and why heteronormativity is a bad thing in the first place. Feminist blog reading for the WIN!

Leave a Reply

