Skip to content

New Hero.

March 20, 2010

(Via) Joy Nash. She’s an actress, activist and writer, with a blog, and three “fat rant” videos: A Fat Rant, Confessions of the Compulsive, and my favorite, Staircase Wit:

Today you look at pictures…and you’re shocked at how cute you were.

Guess what? 10 years from now you’ll be looking at today, photographs taken of this afternoon, of us, here, now and we’ll be shocked at how cute we were….we should’ve been in hot pants 8 days a week, why wasn’t I wearing a tank top?!

So, the mission: to live today like you would have 10 years from now. Cause in the future, we’ll look at the past and wonder what the hell our problem was.

Brilliant.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. nko permalink
    March 20, 2010 11:27 AM

    seconded.

  2. Lisa permalink
    March 20, 2010 12:29 PM

    LOVE. love love love. This is awesome! Can someone please show this to Kirstie Alley and Oprah? And every other fat woman who hates herself for being fat? Her responses to bigotry are hilarious!

  3. March 20, 2010 8:40 PM

    I love her too! There’s a blog that I don’t know if you know called Anybody http://anybody.squarespace.com/
    that is organized by Susie Orbach that is a teraphist and a feminist that wrote the book ” Fat is a feminist issue”. I love her ideas and once I watched an interview that she says exactly the same thing about our pictures when we see then five years from now. It was a wake up call for me! Here’s the link for the interview on my blog http://curlvelyme.blogspot.com/2009/04/para-quem-nao-pode-assistir.html

    I think you’re going to love it too!

  4. March 20, 2010 9:32 PM

    Amazing! Yes! I’ve done similarly, though I’ve just started coming out of a particularly horrible rough patch re: self-esteem. But, I look at pics of me in high school when I thought I was “fat” and am so sad for younger me! How did I not see how beautiful I was?

    My friends 10-20 years older than me remind me I’ll feel the same in 10-20 years. So, yeah, let’s enjoy it NOW. 🙂

  5. March 26, 2010 9:11 PM

    i have always felt the same way!
    it is really awsome when someone puts thoughts into words and helps the rest of the world realize they are not crazy, neither alone.
    especially if one can get something out of the idea, like you did!

Leave a Reply

