Skip to content

Quick Hit: The Fat Nutritionist

February 16, 2010

I’ve been thinking about food a lot lately. I’ve been thinking about how to listen to my body’s needs and disassociate food from issues of morality (e.g. “cookies are bad” and “salad is good”) while figuring out how to eat in a way that makes me feel good on a limited budget. Our discussion group last week was great for me because it allowed me to hear how other people think about food and its relationship to body positivity. And along these lines, I recently found The Fat Nutritionist, a great blog that takes on food issues within the context of fat acceptance.

Michelle, the eponymous “Fat Nutritionist”, is a 30-something nutritionist living in Canada who is trained in the “How to Eat” protocol, which is based on the Health at Every Size philosophy. She is also fat. In addition to her work in Toronto, she offers online counseling through her website. Her blog is a mix of personal reflection, professional and philosophical ruminations and hilariously bad YouTube videos of vintage diet products (which we here at Happy Bodies also love).

Here are a few of my favorite posts:

Eat food. Stuff you like. As much as you want.

It should come as no surprise to anyone reading here that our culture views food as a moral issue. A potentially dangerous moral issue. And, setting aside the very-interesting-but-not-to-be-had-right-now discussion of ethical and religious foodways, food just…isn’t.

Food isn’t moral. It’s not immoral, either. It’s morally neutral. But, sadly, we live in a time and a place where it seems Twinkies = Eternal Damnation.

Dear Fat Nutritionist – You’re pretty good looking (for a girl.)

For me, beauty was a costume I put on in the morning and took off at night, when I was finally alone with myself. I knew this, and it made me nervous as all hell, frightened that someone would see through my disguise and take away the status I’d finally, accidentally, managed to achieve.


If only poor people understood nutrition!

It seems like some people are constantly wringing their hands about how poor people eat (to wit: badly.) And the most popularly proposed solution is to teach them (“them”) more about nutrition! Or educate them in general. Because obviously they just don’t know what they’re doing. And that’s why they eat so badly, and hence, why their health tends to be poorer!

And eureka! — you have a tidy solution that not only absolves financial and economic guilt, but, as a bonus, allows richer, more-edumacated people to assume the role of benevolent experts.

Happy reading!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

