Skip to content

Happy (Bodies) Holidays!

December 26, 2009

Hey happy bodies out there, hope everyone is enjoying celebrating whatever you celebrate this season – whether its family time, snow, eating lots of cookies, or whatever. I had a great year, and a lot of its due to this project and this blog. (Thanks for all the hard work and passion, team!) My interest in body positivity was very much reflected in my christmas loot yesterday, and somehow served as a pretty good round-up of what we wrote about this year. I received:

Body Positive Music:

India.arie, Testimony: Vol 1, Life and Relationships, featuring: “I am not my Hair

Dar Williams, Mortal City, featuring “As Cool as I am”

Lily Allen It’s not me it’s You featuring “It’s not Fair

From the Library:

Lessons from the Fat-o-sphere: Quit Dieting and Declare a Truce with your Body by Kate Harding

“Good Girls”/”Bad Girls”: Women Sex and Power in the Nineties, Nan Bauer Maglin and Donna Perry, ed.

The Body Project: An Intimate History of American Girls by Joan Jacobs Brumberg.

I also got some treats just for my body: A new water bottle to take while running, and a yoga mat, because doing yoga makes me feel great about my body. Oh and lots of good eats, because I am an adult who listens to what my body wants to eat, and sometimes, that’s christmas pie.

Anyone else have any favorite gifts or posts from this year?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Hal Edmonson permalink
    December 26, 2009 8:11 PM

    Scored a copy of “Yes Means Yes”. I’d read a couple of chapters back when I had easy access to the GSC library, and I’m looking forward to actually reading the whole darn thing.

Leave a Reply

