Skip to content

On Cunt.

November 30, 2009

Some people have reclaimed it, but I’m still a little wary. My best friend in Norway (shout out) has, and we constantly have the same exchange. She uses it, I glare at her, she explains that she loves the word, and I remember that she performed “Reclaiming Cunt” in the Vagina Monologues and has every right to do so. But the word still irks me, partly because, I’ve heard it used negatively in the past, and partly because I don’t identify it at all with my actual anatomy.

But when she sent me this sketch by Louis C.K. it got me thinking. Now, there is a lot to debate about the value of comedy in espousing a point, but I like the one he’s making: that words have power without being said, and making them taboo does not reduce their power.

warning: sketch does contain bad words.

So what do you think, happy bodies out there? Could you reclaim “cunt” if you got to use the word on your own terms? Or will it always have a certain power attached?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    November 30, 2009 10:10 PM

    this best friend of yours in Norway sounds pretty smart to me. I’m with her 😉 great post

  2. Ashley permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:24 PM

    This is a great post and that video made me laugh pretty hard. For me personally I use the word cunt when referring to my vagina. For a long time I only did it in my head because well, cunt has a horrible reputation. But I’ve always really loved that word, the way it feels when I say it, the way it sounds and I feel like my vagina is a cunt; to me it feels like a cunt. I don’t use cunt as a derogatory words towards people because that negates my entire basis for using it as a term for my genitals. And out of all the other words in the world for vagina, other than pussy (sometimes, like, say, when coming up for a cute name for a blog) and quim, which I also really love but don’t use as often because a lot of people wouldn’t know what I’m talking about, cunt is the only one that actually doesn’t sound vulgar and stupid to me. Which may sound kind of weird.

    It does bother me to hear some people use cunt in a derogatory sense or worse to think of the times in the past when I myself have used it in that way. But now I just try to use it as a positive thing. When I call my vagina my cunt, in my mind, it’s disconnected from the ideas that cunt=dirty, foul, ugly, etc. Unfortunately, there will always be people out there who use it in a derogatory way but I think that as long as there are people using it the way that makes them feel good then eventually we can all get to a place where we’re comfortable calling our cunts whatever we want to call them.

    Thanks for the great post!

  3. December 6, 2009 10:55 PM

    For me it’s always how it’s intended. I say it about myself, to refer to my vagina, and with a couple of friends we say it back and forth in mock derision, just as we use bitch. I wouldn’t mind a man I was having sex with using the word to refer to my vagina either. I’m pretty loose with words that way in general, it’s all about intention for me. And syllables, I always opt for the fewest syllables.

  4. Lyndsay permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:12 AM

    He is hilarious. Thanks for posting that.

Leave a Reply

