Skip to content

My Summer in Burlington …

July 10, 2009

As some of you know, I am currently interning at Democracy for America, a progressive organization founded by Howard Dean that works to effect national change at the local level.  The internship is awesome (one of my co-interns even writes for this awesome blog at her school), but the best part?  BURLINGTON, VT.  This town is awesome. I’ve found beer I like, people I like, and mountains (super exciting to me as a person from flat areas).

But the most exciting part is seeing myself.

I talked about how important it is to see yourself in the media, academia, etc., but I didn’t address what it’s like to see other people who look, act, and identify like you in real life.  Burlington has a pretty large LGBT population, a pretty large young adult/student population, and a pretty large liberal/progressive/activist population.  I love sitting outside or going to a bar and seeing people that are like me.  It’s the coolest thing ever, and I didn’t realize that I wasn’t getting enough of that (even at Carleton, which is certainly a step up from the Woodlands), until I was so happy when I went to the Farmer’s Market here, and just enjoyed people-watching.  It’s even managing to trump my general nervousness about swimsuit season – which will always be terrifying to me, no matter how hard I try.

Anyway, this is a happy post about a great town, and a great feeling of belonging.  I don’t feel like I’m judged as often as in other places (although some people have a rough time), and my sexual orientation?  It’s just not even an issue.  I originally planned to hide that part of me until I got closer to people, but I immediately felt comfortable enough to talk about it.  I love it a lot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

