Skip to content

Happy Bodies Documentary!!!

June 21, 2009

Dear happy bodies,
Check out this incredible video project created by Anna about our campus group! Anna has been a huge part of both the discussion groups and planning meetings, and documented these events as well as our Happy Bodies Banquet. I can’t thank Anna enough for creating this video, which is a beautiful celebration of our term:

One thing to note is that, because she didn’t have time for an interview, EMILY TRAGERT isn’t credited as a founder. Emily is enthusiatic, thoughtful, passionate, and just one example of the incredibly inspiring group of men and women involved in this project. Unfortunately (for me), a bunch of them just graduated! So lets say a big CONGRATULATIONS to Lisa, Emily, Jill, Britta, Lydia, Lacey, Amanda, Davi, and Kristine who all added something unique to this project. Lisa, Emily, and Jill have been incredible leaders throughout the term, and have been great role models to me. Luckily, they are going to continue to contribute to the blog, sharing their wisdom from “beyond Carleton”.

To EVERYONE who has contributed to the blog, all our anonymous contributors, and everyone involved in planning meetings and discussion groups, thanks SO MUCH for your passion and enthusiasm this term! I have been truly inspired and changed by this project and you should all be so proud of yourselves.

The blog will continue over the summer, and campus activities will start up again this fall.
C’mon get happy,
Becky

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    June 21, 2009 10:22 AM

    Awwww, yay! This was so great to watch and I’m glad that, despite the fact I’m in another state, I could read and react and reply to all of these wonderful blogs. The posts I read here would so often fuel me to write things, or continuing writing things of my own and partly gave me and Andreas the push to actually start our own blog. Body and sex positivity are things that I’ve thought about, talked about and been involved in for awhile even before I really knew a whole lot about either of them. But it’s always, always, always been important to me to love my body and it’s always upset me that so many other women don’t. I’m glad that there’s so much activism out there, so much positive energy. All of you make me so happy!

Leave a comment