Skip to content

Quick hit: 25 Things About My Sexuality

June 2, 2009
tags:

A friend tipped me off to this great site, 25 Things About My Sexuality, in which users submit anonymous list of things about their sexualities. I really like how the admin doesn’t define at all what these things should be, so that people can define sexuality in any way they please. Although a lot of the items tend to be about sexual behavior, they also have to do with fantasy, love, and all different aspects of sexual identity. My favorite part of the site is how it reinforces that everyone has a sexuality, and that there is no “normal” way to express it.

Ok, I know that one of the great things about the site is that it doesn’t define sexuality for you, but here are some questions I’ve been thinking about for myself:

How do I define my sexuality?
Does it stop with sexual orientation?
Do my sexual experiences impact the way I think about my sexuality?
How does my expression of gender impact the way I view my sexuality?
How does my race, ethnicity and cultural background impact the way I view my sexuality?
How does the way I feel about my body impact the way I view my sexuality?
When did I start viewing myself as a sexual being? Who in my life has reinforced or discouraged this?
How is my sexuality expressed with a partner?
How do I communicate with a partner about my (and their) sexuality?
How does my sexuality fit into all parts of my life?
How does my sexuality fit into my identity as a whole?
What parts of my sexuality do I still not understand? What do I want to explore?

Just some fun things to think about.
Submit your own 25 things to: 25thingsaboutmysexuality@gmail.com!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 4:56 AM

    I believe in our society we have lost touch with our own sensuality. We question sex and sexuality, yet at the root of all this is our sensual nature. I love your blog! You have many great things to say about all areas of our core identities.

  2. French Vanilla permalink
    July 25, 2010 4:29 PM

    I loved this entry! Good questions!!!!

  3. October 21, 2010 11:04 AM

    Good stuff :).

  4. September 12, 2011 8:59 AM

    What a cool website. 🙂

  5. ldslifecoach permalink
    December 11, 2011 5:26 PM

    This is great because it allows the reader to see all the dimensions of sexuality in a broad sense

  6. August 20, 2012 4:35 PM

    Have you checked out any of the checklists on scarleteen.org? There are a lot of tools there to help think about one’s sexuality.

Leave a Reply

