Skip to content

Quick hit: Sex positivity from Lily Allen

May 26, 2009

I’m really digging this song, “Not Fair” off Lily Allen’s new album It’s Not Me, It’s You:

Because I only keep up with celebrity gossip as pertains to Robert Pattinson (oh noes!), I am a little confused by the status of Allen as a body positive role model, but this song is super fun and sex positive. I like that she doesn’t use euphemisms, and states plainly that she is not being pleasured, and that sex is an important part of her relationship. Best lines:

There’s just one thing that’s getting in the way
When we go up to bed, you’re just no good, it’s such a shame
I look into your eyes, I want to get to know you,
And then you make this noise and it’s apparent it’s all over

It’s not fair and I think you’re really mean,
I think you’re really mean, I think you’re really mean
Oh, you’re supposed to care
But you never make me scream, you never make me scream.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 26, 2009 1:18 AM

    I have been listening to this song, too, and everything else on her newest album, pretty much nonstop of late.

    But being confused about Lily’s status as a body positive role model is completely understandable – take a look at this interview [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cksqcjZKbw] with her from January 2007. She is surprisingly frank and touches on many issues that have come up in our discussions, and is obviously very intellectually aware of what body positivity entails. But at the same time – and this is what is frightening and sad – she slips in many comments that our actually quite body negative, like joking about bulimia.

    Since she recorded this, however, she has gone to rather drastic measures to lose weight, including hypnosis and (don’t quote me on this one) liposuction. Personally, I find it disappointing that an artist whose music often reflects a attitude that is more critical of the social constructs that wreak havoc on the female body image should lose her potential for social impact this way. It’s hard to blame her, because the pressure for (female) celebrities to look a certain way is part of the larger problem – but how do we begin to deal with this? Especially when people who seem to be body positive role models, like Lily, turn out not to be?

  2. Jessica permalink
    May 26, 2009 5:10 AM

    Lily Allen has mentioned a few times, that it’s not her intention to be a role model [whatever happen to looking up to mothers, or sisters?] It’s not even her intention to be a celebrity! [ it’s all too fake] Her priorities and motives are not so far fetched, she did manage, to get more publicity, than she wanted, but most likely she would have been happier, at some points, to have the same popularity as Kate Nash, or Leon Lewis. There’s just a few problems, how she has been viewed by the public, because of negative press, and because her lyrics are controversial. Amazingly, she has somehow manage to tone down that bad girl image. And the lyrics, are good. She doesn’t avoid the fact, that she likes the money, and sometimes getting free clothes, she does work really hard so she can’t be blamed for wanting the perks.

  3. Lisa permalink
    May 26, 2009 8:50 AM

    The first time I heard this song on the radio I did a double take, “is she really talking about what I think she’s talking about?”. I’m still rather impressed that the mainstream media will even play something like this that so obviously talks about women’s right to receive pleasure, no just give it.

    I would be careful however about writing off Lily Allen as a body positive role model. Just because she has tried to lose weight or made other statements that are not body positive, doesn’t eliminate some of the messages in her music. I’m also not sure that we have to classify everyone as either completely body positive, or not at all. I guess what I’m saying is that it’s not black and white, and we can respect a lot of what Lily Allen is doing, while still not agreeing with everything she says and does. I’m not perfect, I still say and think body negative things sometimes, but I’m working on it, and making progress. Can’t we hope that Lily is working on it too?

  4. janebejane permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:30 AM

    I’m totally digging this song. I really like her song, “Fuck You” as well, it has some good messages. I love how blunt she is.

Leave a Reply

