Skip to content

Nipples.

May 21, 2009

I had a couple of nipplicious moments the other day, which necessitates commentary because LET’S FACE IT, they are AMAZING. my moments:

1) I was outside  with the other sustainability assistants getting pictures taken for a thing and all I could think about was whether my nipples would be showing because a) it was pretty frigid-windy and b) I do not wear a bra.

2) Discussion in my CAMS class came around to the fact that for some Beyonce music video someone had the role of keeping her nipples all nice and out there. By icing them. All I could see were the credits: Producer, Gaffer, Best Boy, NIPPLE ICER. 

Am I hyper-attentive to nipples? In elementary/middle school, I received the book The Care & The Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls, published by the people who made American Girl dolls and American Girl magazine. I remember nothing about it, EXCEPT: the boob page. There was a section that described and illustrated breast (and nipple) development. I’m not sure I had any breasts to speak of when I first read the book, but for some reason I honed in on the nipples. They change? They aren’t just the reddish center-o-the-boob? 

Other thoughts: I am mystified by breast-feeding—what does it feel like?  I also want to meet (or BE?!) one of those alleged women who can orgasm solely by nipple stimulation—whoa baby. And what about seeing nipples? I was veryveryvery self-conscious about it when I stopped wearing bras–first because they pinched my back, then because I just didn’t want to anymore–but now (except in the cold) I don’t really think about it. Hmm. thoughts?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Becky permalink
    May 22, 2009 11:25 AM

    Omg, I am so with you Katie, nipples are awesome. I remember the first time I realized that my nipples hardened, AND THEN that I could make them do it, I was completely fascinated. I still think the visibility of arousal on the body is really cool (and sexy).

    The only thing that has ruined my experience with nipples, is the idea of piercing. I am all for people who want them for their own bodies, but I swear my nipples shrink back into my chest when I think about the idea of piercing them.

  2. Ashley permalink
    May 22, 2009 2:18 PM

    Nipple ARE awesome! I remember laying in the tub when I was around 1p or 11 years old and looking down at my chest and wondering why the area around my nipple was all wrinkly looking. And then squeezing it together to make it MORE wrinkly. Nipples are insanely fun. And similar to you, when I’m not at work where I wear a sports bra, I usually do not wear a bra. There’s still a bit of a “I wonder if it’s appropriate for my nipples to be hard or if I’m too jiggly etc.” but overall I don’t really care.

    This kind of reminds me of a conversation I was having with Andreas last night. I’m fond of breasts. I like mine, I like other womens’, and I like cleavage. And we were discussing whether or not looking at a woman’s cleavage is a form of objectification. It’s something that I wonder a lot and something that I find the lines of getting blurred in my head; does my love and appreciation for the female form and all its many beauties sometimes lead to me thinking things that are unacceptable?

    But back to nipples. I’ve orgasmed from nipple/breast stimulation; back when I didn’t masturbate while on my period that’s how I would get off. It’s a different kind of orgasm, kind of gentle and flowy, for me anyway.

    I ❤ nipples.

  3. chingona permalink
    May 22, 2009 7:15 PM

    Once it stopped hurting (about 10 days for me, longer for some women), breastfeeding felt surprisingly like … not much. I know some women get aroused or even have orgasms, but if I felt anything, it was sort of vaguely sensual. There’s a bit of a strange, internal pins-and-needles feeling when your milk “lets down” or starts really flowing a few minutes after the baby starts nursing.

    What’s pretty impressive – and what I didn’t know – is that once it gets going, it actually pumps out under its own pressure. If the baby moves his mouth off your nipple, sometimes the milk can actually shoot out across the room.

    And I found they were actually more sensitive – in a good way – during sex, which was rather counterintuitive.

  4. Lyndsay permalink
    May 25, 2009 9:01 PM

    Sometimes I’ve thought I was going to orgasm from only nipple stimulation but it hasn’t actually happened yet. 😦 But maybe I will appreciate them more after reading this post.

Leave a Reply

