Skip to content

Midweek pick-me-up.

May 20, 2009

Check out these temperance activists from the Prohibition era. These are some of the best “bitch please” faces I’ve ever seen. May your Wednesday be half as badass as these women.

prohibition bitch please temperance

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Nikoleta permalink
    May 20, 2009 4:53 PM

    haha i love this photo. may your wednesday be badass as well.

  2. Becky permalink
    May 20, 2009 10:07 PM

    It’s SO HARD to decide which one is my favorite: The one on the left who kind of looks like a ghoul, the one on the right who is sucking in her cheeks like she’s a first time model, or the one in the middle totally rocking the Aretha Franklin-esque hat.

  3. Emily permalink
    May 20, 2009 10:15 PM

    Mine is totally the one second from left in the bottom row with the elbow on her friend’s shoulder and the total “bish plz” face. She just doesn’t give a shit.

    But I’d have to say first time model lady is a close second.

  4. Jacque permalink
    May 20, 2009 10:18 PM

    I just have to ask…isn’t it kinda un-body-positive to be mocking how these ladies look? I mean, I’m at a loss. Because the picture is hilarious. But still…we ARE making fun of their physical appearances. And if we think their Prohibition stance is the thing that we’re really mocking, then attacking their physical attributes is irrelevant.
    Sorry, I just don’t know how to reconcile my morals with my first instinct to laugh.

  5. Emily permalink
    May 21, 2009 2:16 AM

    Sorry, it probably came across that way, but my intention in the post totally wasn’t to mock how they look. Yeah, their outfits are pretty funny and maybe they aren’t the friendliest looking bunch, but I just think they have the best ‘tude I’ve seen in a while. I can totally relate to their facial expressions, y’know?

    The blog I found this picture on went the obnoxious “well, would anyone have wanted to kiss them anyway?” route, which really annoyed me, so thanks for calling us on it before we did the same thing. You’re absolutely right that we shouldn’t be making fun of how they look.

  6. abodyrevolution permalink
    May 21, 2009 10:00 AM

    love it! brought a giant smile to the day.

  7. abodyrevolution permalink
    May 21, 2009 10:05 AM

    i just read all the comments on the photo. i simply would like to ask the question, isn’t it okay to just enjoy the archaic humor of the photo without attributing negativity surrounding the way the look? i love old images because in order for the exposure to turn properly the people had to be extremely still and not smile. the discrepancy between then and now is what makes me love oldies but goodies.

  8. Becky permalink
    May 21, 2009 4:32 PM

    I’m sorry guys, that was not cool of me. It is just an example of how easy it is forget the person behind the physical appearance. Although I stand by loving the woman in the middle’s hat.

Leave a Reply

