Skip to content

Possibly the greatest book ever…

May 18, 2009

So I’m reading this book for my Hip-hop class that’s a collection of feminist essays. It’s called Home Girls Make Some Noise.

I just read Britta’s post on sexual violence from a week ago and thought I’d include parts of one of my favorite passages…it’s called “Can You See Me Now? Am I Clear To You?” by Askhari:

I believe Clarence Thomas did everything Anita Hill said he did. The world doesn’t always listen to women. Womanists have to be loud, but quiet women can kick ass…I believe in womanists’ human rights to breathe and walk down the street at night in a tight-ass skirt, and not have an attack or rape attributed to the way We dress, or the time of night. Society should stop finding fault with victims and change itself so the emphasis is on stopping the perpetrators of crime. A rape victim is never to blame no matter where she was, what she was doing, how much she had to drink or how many men she has slept with. The rapist is always to blame for being a criminal; and rape is always violent. A note to all comedians: Pearl Cleage was right when she wrote, “there is no such thing as a rape joke.”

I believe sometimes women participate in our own oppression…We try to stay around men We trust, but every rapist and woman beater has at least one woman in his life who has trusted him.

Basically, I really love this book and I love that this woman is writing everything that I often think but rarely say for fear of being singled out as an “angry feminist” or something (which, let’s face it, I probably am!) Just for kicks…

One Comment leave one →
  1. davigriffin permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:59 AM

    um, the ‘e’ key on my computer doesn’t completely work…hence the typos!

Leave a Reply

