Skip to content

Forget Age.

May 5, 2009

Bette Calman, at 83 years old, is still teaching yoga classes up to 11 times a week. Although reporters insist on referring to her as a “supergran”, Calman doesn’t define herself simply by her age, but rather by how she feels about her body:

You’re never too old. The body is a remarkable instrument. It can stretch and stretch, and get better all the time. Forget age. 

Has anyone ever taken a “real age” test? You put in some basic information from the categories of “health”, “habits”, “relationships” “diet” and “fitness”, and it tells you how old you are based on the apparent fact that younger=healthier. Now, ok, the younger you are, generally the farther away from death you are, but I still don’t see why health and age are inextricably linked. Additionally, what is with the motto, “Live life to the youngest” or their advice on how to “look young”? We need to respect the aging process, recognize that wisdom comes with experience, and that your body is always beautiful, no matter what number is ascribed to it. Forget age.

Side note: My “real age” according to this test is 12 years old. Is that a good thing? I’m pretty sure I don’t want to go back to braces, middle school, and listening to “Wherever you will go” by The Calling.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 6:56 PM

    Hey! I like that song!

    It was the theme song for the NHL playoffs one year. Didn’t strike me as appropriate at first glance, but it really grew on me as the season went on.

  2. Nikoleta permalink
    May 6, 2009 7:35 PM

    Apparently I have a really high BMI, and that is making me older than I actually am. Also, I don’t have enough muscle mass. All this useful information without ever setting foot outside the door. Who needs to go to a doctor when these websites just know exactly what my problems are without ever having seen or met me. So useful.

Leave a Reply

