Skip to content

Kelly Clarkson: blurg.

May 3, 2009

The blurg series is where I point out the obvious and try to articulate what’s so obnoxious about various parts of pop culture.

This past year, I have decided to not engage in drunken “hookups”, because I feet like my participation might be supporting a culture of sexual violence permissibility. I never have been concerned about being considered a “tease”, I have always felt it completely in my right to leave or stop whenever I felt like it. But even though I have been generally comfortable with the decisions I have made, I am not comfortable with the way I see women treated as part of this hookup culture. As soon as it hits friday at 9pm – a new mindset takes over, where bodies are no longer a part of a whole self, but merely an object for sexual pleasure. The language of “scoring a chick” and “getting some” becomes standard, and the treatment of bodies follows this same logic. Basically, I do not want to support this culture anymore. I do not want to give the impression with my actions that consent can be given while drunk, or that the way I dress my body when I go out at night is solely for a man’s enjoyment. So you might say that “I do not hook up”.

Ok, so I’m not really sure why I was thinking that Kelly Clarkson might be expressing this same sentiment in her new video “I do not Hook Up” (it’s number 2 on mtv.com!). Instead, this is what I got:

Kelly on her video:

I wrote this whole treatment about how the girl is a good girl, she doesn’t hook up. But inside her head, every time she turns around, she’s fantasizing. So she’s hooking up in her fantasies, but never in real life, just to make a twist on it, and it’s absolutely hilarious. I mean, to see me crawling across a table, it’s pretty much comedy at its finest. The girl’s not really a bad girl, but in her head, she’s just like this freak.

Let’s break down the messages she’s giving for a second:

1. Bad girls hookup. Good girls don’t.
(Where have I heard this before? blurg.)

2. A woman acting out her fantasies is hilarious.

boys will be boys

3. While women acting out their fantasies is both “bad” and “hilarious”, men’s sexual behavior is always excusable because it’s in their nature.

I can’t cook, no, but I can clean

4. You better be domestic if you’re looking for a serious relationship.

‘Cause the more that you try the harder I’ll fight
To say goodnight

5. “No” usually means “keep trying”. Remember, as Matthew McConaughey says, “There’s something wrong with any heterosexual man under 80 if he can’t find an angle with every woman.” Apparently, Clarkson’s angle is putting your head in her hand.

The only positive message I see here is that yes, it is normal for women to have sexual desires. But for god’s sake don’t express them: you don’t want to be a whore, laughed at or be picked up by Matthew McConaughey.

blurg.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    May 3, 2009 10:26 PM

    Also, apparently rich girls are good girls. Since when does class have to do with whether or not we have sexual desires?

  2. cellardoor10 permalink
    May 4, 2009 11:21 AM

    I’m disappointed in Kelly – these lyrics sound like something that would come out of Katy Perry’s gender stereotype-reinforcing mouth (don’t even get me STARTED on her). Kelly usually had a bit more sensitivity to that, but I guess the current wave of pop stardom is to make fun of stereotypes while reinforcing them even more.

Leave a Reply

