Skip to content

My thighs touch too.

May 1, 2009

Today, I read this post on http://www.fmylife.com. FML.

Today, I read a PostSecret that said “I’m afraid my thighs will start to touch soon.” My thighs have always touched. I didn’t even know thighs weren’t supposed to touch. FML

My thighs touch too. Thighs are supposed to touch, or at least some people’s thighs. It all depends on your height, hip width, and of course, the size of your thighs and all of those things are determined by your particular genetic makeup, your age, your level of fitness, etc. It makes me sad that this one little post on a website could make a woman out there feel bad about her body. I’m sure that wasn’t the intent of the original thigh-touch-fearing contributor, but that was the result. If your thighs have always touched, then that’s normal. If your thighs have never touched, then that’s normal too. We need to stop looking to other people’s bodies to create standards of normalcy for ourselves.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    May 1, 2009 2:16 PM

    Hell yeah, mine touch too!

    I remember first discovering that some people’s thighs DON’T touch. I’m pretty sure it was within the last five years.

  2. Ashley permalink
    May 2, 2009 12:23 AM

    I first became aware of the fact that some people’s thighs don’t touch while watching some movie; there was a scene that showed two people from behind walking forward and the woman’s thighs were sooooooo far apart they looked like parenthesis or something. It was kind of disgusting. But that’s how I became kind of aware of that; then I started asking people, do your thighs touch? My best friend’s don’t, my boyfriend’s don’t, other people’s don’t, others do, mine definitely do.

    And all of that is beautiful.

  3. chingona permalink
    May 2, 2009 8:15 PM

    I remember being around 9 or 10 and being home during the summer, watching TV, and seeing weight loss ads in which the woman realized she really needed to get to dieting when she noticed her thighs touching. I stood up, looked down and saw that, yep, my thighs touched. They still do. I’ve had incredibly muscular legs in the past from Tae Kwon Do, but my thighs always touched.

  4. Lisa permalink
    May 2, 2009 11:08 PM

    I remember in high school, our student body president was an incredibly slim woman. And every Monday she would stand up on stage and give announcements and I would just stare at the little gap of light peeking through between her thighs because I couldn’t figure out how her body was put together in such a way that her thighs didn’t touch. This isn’t to say of course that all thighs should touch, I guess I was just fascinated by her because her body was different from mine.

  5. Lyndsay permalink
    May 3, 2009 6:06 PM

    Actually, it not only makes me sad that such a comment made her feel so badly about her body but sad that she doesn’t have perspective that some people in the world have actual problems. I dunno. It just gets me sometimes when people make little things sound really bad.

Leave a Reply

