Skip to content

Horrible message

April 30, 2009

Several “cheap chic” retailers, including Target and Forever 21, are beginning to stock plus size clothing. I thought that sounded pretty cool, but apparently, it will only encourage teh fattiez:

“Yeah, as capitalists they have the right to address a growing marketplace and it’s a smart business decision,” said MeMe Roth, president of the organization National Action Against Obesity.

“However, when you look at the human cost, what we’re doing is we’re on the Titanic and rather than forcing our children into the lifeboat, we’re telling them to join the band. Worrying about fashion rather than worrying about the food is a horrible message that we’re sending these kids,” Roth said.

Seriously? Yes, kids feeling entitled to stylish, fun clothes that fit is way, way worse than kids feeling completely ashamed of their average-sized bodies.

MeMe Roth, I hate walking into a store not knowing if they carry my size, but I don’t hate it because it makes me feel ashamed of my weight, of my body, of myself. I hate it because I like shopping, and moreover, I like my body, and I resent being asked to believe that I shouldn’t.

MeMe Roth, do you know how many people don’t think they should be allowed to feel that way? Do you know how many people feel like fat is the worst thing they could ever be? Do you know how many “obese” kids spend plenty goddamn time, thank you very much, “worrying about the food”? That is the horrible message you’re sending them: that because of their body, they do not deserve to fit, they do not deserve to look like you, or go the places you go. That because of their body, they do not deserve to belong. That’s irredeemably stupid.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    April 30, 2009 5:21 PM

    Andreas told me about this woman the other night and the conversation culminated in something along the lines of “she can lick my fat fucking cunt”. Because yes, MeMe (self-centered name if I’ve EVER seen one) there are just so many people jumping on the fat boat, aptly named the Titanic, you clever thing you. This is just one more example of someone spreading their ignorance, one more goddamn example of trying to make it seem like it’s SO fucking wrong to be okay with your body the way it is. God forfuckingbid you not attempt to shrink yourself down so you can squeeze into those fashionable size 1s and 2s. Because THAT’S a totally healthy image. Where’s the outrage about that? Where are the people screaming in rebellion over that fucked up message; which is ALL about fashion and ALL about unhealthy bodies and body image and ALL about trying to convince us that what we’re seeing is the pinnacle of health and beauty.

    That outrage is right here, in blogs and magazines like this. It’s right here in the minds and the hearts and the writings of people who see this bullshit for what it is. You don’t see it in Glamour or Cosmopolitan or any of those shit-rag excuses for magazines. Because they’re desperate to keep the status quo.

  2. Lisa permalink
    April 30, 2009 10:40 PM

    How sick can these people get? I bet this MeMe isn’t exactly out there promoting healthier foods in schools. How dare people love their bodies AND be “plus-sized”? I’m on the larger end of normal, so I can usually find clothes that fit me at most clothing stores, but I still remember one bad experience that I had. I was shopping at my favorite department store. I tried on a large tshirt, and it was a little too snug, so I wanted to try a larger size. There were no larger sizes. I can’t even imagine how it must feel to know that most regular stores don’t have anything that fits you. This just further serves to stigmatize fat people, and make them feel that they really are unacceptable as members of society. Fuck that. Everyone deserves to buy clothes that make them look and feel great.

    • Jill permalink
      May 1, 2009 10:21 AM

      I usually do fine at larger clothing stores (e.g. Old Navy or Target), but smaller, locally-owned stores almost never have anything in my size. Which is a bummer, because I would love to buy more locally.

  3. Becky permalink
    April 30, 2009 11:34 PM

    Also, wouldn’t it be great if they didn’t make it a separate “line” of clothing? Like, couldn’t we consider the sizes that half the population wears “normal” sizes?

    • Jill permalink
      May 1, 2009 9:58 AM

      Right. Like, “plus” what, exactly?

      I remember once, when I used to work at a store at an outlet mall, that a woman was upset because the 2X coat cost about $100 more than the XL coat. My boss explained oh so thoughtfully to her that the manufacturer had had to create a separate product (the “plus size” line) because the “plus” sizes used so much more leather. Um. No.

Leave a Reply

