Skip to content

Rebellyon

April 29, 2009

When RoadRunner Records told Amanda Palmer, former lead singer of the Dresden Dolls, that her belly was “too fat” to appear in a music video, her fans were outraged. In response, they started what they call The Rebellyon, an online gallery of people’s bellies–bellies of all sizes, colors and shapes, bellies that are rarely if ever portrayed in media images. The best thing about the Rebellyon–besides seeing normal, beautiful bellies, of course–are the messages some people write on their bellies. They’re funny, poignant and, well, rebellious (sorry). Some of my favorites:

“Shit, the belly deserves respect, yo!”
“This is gorgeous”
“Women are more than their parts”
“Free the belly!”
“Sexism is sooo 1700s…RE-BELLY-ON!”
“Thin, fat, tall, short: uniformity is boring.”

Seeing these bellies, in all their diversity and imperfection, is absolutely wonderful. I’m so glad that Amanda Palmer’s fans have turned their outrage into something so positive. So I’ve decided to join the rebellyon, to appreciate my belly for its shape and its scars and everything it is. I hope you’ll join me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. becky permalink
    April 29, 2009 1:07 AM

    I’m sorry, I can’t join the rebellyon as I have recently lost my belly and found my abs.

    • Ashley permalink
      April 29, 2009 10:51 AM

      That’s still a belly! We want allllllllllllll bellies at the Rebellyon! ^.^

  2. April 29, 2009 1:39 PM

    Dude, I got some catch up blog reading to do. Hooray for this site and the lovely folks operating it!

    Also, here’s a link to another blog kept by a Carleton grad – Steph Kroll – that deals with pop culture criticism and other wonderful things. Here’s her post on the ReBellyon from a while back – http://shalottianshards.wordpress.com/2008/12/03/beyond-amanda-palmers-belly/

Leave a Reply

