Skip to content

Dove’s Great Campaign…

April 16, 2009

Dove has this great campaign called ‘Campaign for Real Beauty’ that I recently discovered. Watch this video. It’s eye-opening.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    April 16, 2009 11:26 PM

    That reminds me of this video, which I also love:

  2. April 16, 2009 11:49 PM

    Oh, Dove. They try to paint themselves as the good guy, but it doesn’t change the fact that they’re still trying to sell you cellulite cream…

    A step in the right direction or a new way to get you to buy their products? I don’t think their motives are to promote good body image but to make it look like they do so you feel better about buying from them. They want you to feel good about yourself, right? It’s a dangerous game. What the video shows is certainly important but I fear Dove may be exploiting the message to their own benefit.

    • Jill permalink
      April 17, 2009 12:04 AM

      What I think is positive about this is that it’s not necessarily intuitive to everyone that every single media image they see is doctored. It’s false. It’s created, meant to set up an unreachable standard.

      I hear what you’re saying, Amanda, because it certainly wouldn’t be the first time that a company puffed out its chest as the good guy without changing its practices or philosophy. And I think the danger is that you get this result: a clip from ANTM cycle 3, you can start at about 1:50.

      To sum up, the challenge in this episode was for the women to take pictures without makeup. One of the criteria for “success” was how little digital retouching was required for the photo to be pressworthy. What’s fucked up is the totally overblown responses from the judges on the original, un-retouched picture.

      I hope that ads like this one lead us to be critical of standards of beauty. But I can see it going the way of ANTM: total repulsion at any perceived imperfection.

  3. davigriffin permalink
    April 17, 2009 8:15 AM

    Hmmm. I guess I didn’t know about their full product line. I just enjoyed seeing the full progression from the actual person to the billboard. They also have a line called Pro-Age (not anti-age), which I thought was cool. I think this is one of those things where I don’t really care if Dove’s being self-interested because I do think–at least with several pieces of their ad campaigns–that they’re doing something positive for regular people.

  4. April 17, 2009 8:53 AM

    I think the video is great. It’s still really telling though that when you go to Dove’s website to the product finder, the toolbar is labeled “select a need.” So we should like ourselves how we are but still need stuff in order to do it? It’s a complex message. I think they got the first part right. The second part may not be possible to eliminate due to the capitalist system described in my previous post, but it’s important not to forget it. Conclusion: I applaud them for trying and maybe their self-interest isn’t so bad, but I fear they are sending the same message so many companies do. They’re just doing it in a subtler way.

Leave a Reply

